Sonoma NASCAR lineup: starting order, pole for Save Mart 350 based on qualifying

NASCAR is in California this weekend. On Saturday, drivers in the Cup Series raced qualifying laps at Sonoma Raceway ahead of Sunday’s Save Mart 350.

Kyle Larson is the defending race champion and he entered qualifying to claim his fifth pole in the last six races at Sonoma and his fourth pole through qualifying.

36 drivers competed in qualifying on the 1.99-mile street circuit with 11 corners.

Sporting News has the results of Saturday’s qualifying and the starting order for Sunday’s Save Mart 350 (4:14 p.m. ET green flag; FS1, TSN5, PRN).

Save Mart 350 qualification results

Final group results

Finished driver Lap time (sec)
1. Kyle Larson 77,776
2. Chase Eliot 77,799
3. Chris Buescher 77,938
4. Michael McDowell 77,941
5. Tyler Reddick 78,021
6. Cole Custer 78.07
7. Ross Chastain 78.137
8th. Daniel Suarez 78,148
9. Joey Logano 78,276
10 Denny Hamlin 78,515

Who won the pole for the NASCAR race in Sonoma?

Kyle Larson, the 2021 Save Mart 350 winner and a native of Elk Grove, California, took pole position for the 2022 edition of the race.

This is the fifth time Larson has claimed pole position at Sonoma.

“It was good. I was a bit surprised that I ran that 70-year race because I felt like I gave up a lot of time in turns 4 and 7. Had I had those two turns back, I would have felt like that , I could.” I went a lot faster,” Larson told FS2’s Jamie Little.

Starting grid for Sonoma races

The starting order for the Save Mart 350 was determined by the results of Saturday’s qualifying. The 36 cars that did qualifying heats will line up for race Sunday.

Hendrick Motorsports teammates Kyle Larson and Chase Elliott will start the race on the front row.

start pos. driver car no team
1 Kyle Larson 5 Henrik Motorsport
2 Chase Eliot 9 Henrik Motorsport
3 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing
4 Michael McDowell 34 Motorsport in the front row
5 Tyler Reddick 8th Richard Childress Racing
6 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas race
7 Ross Chastain 1 Trackhouse race
8th Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse race
9 Joey Logano 22 Team Penke
10 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
11 Kurt Busch 45 23XI race
12 Kyle Bush 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
13 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
14 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penke
fifteen Hunt Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas race
16 AJ Allmendinger 16 Kaulig Racing
17 joey hand fifteen Rick Ware Racing
18 Justin Haley 31 Kaulig Racing
19 Alex Bowman 48 Henrik Motorsport
20 William Byron 24 Henrik Motorsport
21 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas race
22 Brad Keselowski 6 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing
23 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas race
24 death Gilland 38 Motorsport in the front row
25 Austin Cinderic 2 Team Penke
26 Harrison Burton 21 Wood Brothers race
27 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI race
28 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
29 Josh Bilicki 77 Spire Motorsport
30 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsport
31 Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
32 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
33 Eric Jones 43 Small GMS Motorsports
34 Ty Dillon 42 Small GMS Motorsports
35 Scott Heckert 78 Live fast motorsport
36 CodyWare 51 Rick Ware Racing

Leave a Comment